Follow us on: 
facebook
youtube
flick
 

WHO's governing body reviews IHR implementation in the Western Pacific Region

Print Email

HANOI, 27 September 2012—The World Health Organization (WHO) says it remains essential for countries to meet their commitments under the International Health Regulations – or IHRs – to ensure preparedness in effectively responding to emerging disease outbreaks and other public health emergencies.

Countries that were unable to make the 15 June 2012 deadline for meeting the core capacity requirements set by the IHRs can have an additional two years—based on a justified need and an implementation plan. Many countries, including 14 of the Western Pacific Region's 27 Member States, who are state parties to the IHRs, have requested such an extension. WHO says further extensions beyond 15 June 2014 can be granted in exceptional situations, taking into account the advice of the IHR Review Committee.

"This is a critical year for all of us," WHO Regional Director for the Western Pacific

Shin Young-soo told the Regional Committee for the Western Pacific, WHO's governing body. "The revised International Health Regulations entered into force in 2007 and have been in force for five years. It is vital to review achievements, look at where we stand now, and decide how we move forward."

The Regional Committee is meeting in Hanoi to review WHO's work in the Region, including the status of IHR implementation of countries and areas.

The IHRs aim to ensure that national core capacity requirements are developed, strengthened and maintained.

"Effective implementation of the national plans is vital to success," said Dr Shin. "These plans require sustainable national investment and external support, both technically and financially. We need more predictable financial resources not only during emergencies, but also between emergencies to improve preparedness and to also prevent public health emergencies from occurring."

In the Western Pacific Region, the Asia Pacific Strategy for Emerging Diseases or APSED (2010) serves as a regional tool to help build and maintain capacities required by the IHR. Also contributing to IHR core capacity development, efforts are made in related technical areas including food safety and environmental health. Together these programmes provide support to Member States to help ensure that the Region is better prepared to respond to emerging diseases and other public health emergencies.

Despite the overall progress, WHO says urgent actions are needed to fully comply with the IHRs given the main public health risks and vulnerabilities in the Western Pacific Region. At the same time, Pacific island countries and areas face unique challenges, which will need a tailored, flexible approach in implementing the IHRs.

Countries that need an additional two years to meet the IHR core capacity requirements should allocate resources and maximize efforts to achieve the core capacities. At the same time, continuing long-term efforts are vital to enhance and sustain the IHR core capacities in all Member States. In coordination and collaboration with partners, WHO continues to support countries in meeting their IHR core capacity requirements.

For more information or to request an interview, please contact:

  • Ms Marilu Lingad | Mobile (Viet Nam) +84 (0)1272643638 | Mobile (Philippines) +63 908 891 4532; | E-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Mr Timothy O'Leary | Mobile (Viet Nam) +84 (0)1252093845 | Mobile (Philippines) +63 908 886 8738 | E-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Spotlight

myhealth-myright_en.pdf.png

WORLD AIDS DAY MESSAGE 2017

1 December 2017

Michel Sidibé
Executive Director of UNAIDS
Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations

This World AIDS Day, we are highlighting the importance of the right to health and the challenges that people living with and affected by HIV face in fulfilling that right.


contest_680.jpg

Community spaces design contest for an exciting hanoi

Ha Noi, October 17/10/2017 - Aiming at improving the living environment and bringing culture and art to the community towards a better urban future, United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) successfully developed the project “Promote participatory, community-based and youth-led approach in safe, greening public spaces in Hoan Kiem district toward a pro-poor, inclusive and sustainable urban development” (hereinafter called Public Spaces project) under the Block by Block program with Mojang, the makers of the videogame Minecraft.

 

Deadline for round 1: From 17/10/2017 to 04/11/2017 Extended to 9 November 2017


op-ed-juv-justice-390.jpg

Harsh punishment for child offenders doesn’t prevent further criminality

The age at which a child, can be held criminally liable is a controversial issue around the world. Within Viet Nam, this issue is currently being grappled with in the Penal Code amendments. Some argue that a "get tough on crime" approach is necessary to punish children to prevent further criminality.

However, international research shows that because of their developmental stages, labelling and treating children as criminals at an early age can have serious negative impacts on their development and successful rehabilitation.


rc_ai_new_year_card_300.jpg

New Year Greetings from the United Nations Resident Coordinator a.i. in Viet Nam

 

On the occasion of New Year 2017, on behalf of the United Nations family in Viet Nam I wish to reiterate our appreciation and express our warmest wishes to our partners and friends throughout the country. We wish our partners and their families in Viet Nam peace, prosperity, good health and happiness in the coming year.

As we enter the second year of the Sustainable Development Goals era, we look forward to continuing our close cooperation for the sake of Viet Nam’s future development; one which is inclusive, equitable and sustainable, with no one left behind.

Youssouf Abdel-Jelil
United Nations Resident Coordinator a.i. in Viet Nam


WAD2016.jpg

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon’s message for World AIDS Day, observed on 1 December

 

Thirty-five years since the emergence of AIDS, the international community can look back with some pride.  But we must also look ahead with resolve and commitment to reach our goal of ending the AIDS epidemic by 2030.

There has been real progress in tackling the disease. More people than ever are on treatment.  Since 2010, the number of children infected through mother to child transmission has dropped by half. Fewer people die of AIDS related causes each year.  And people living with HIV are living longer lives.

The number of people with access to life-saving medicines has doubled over the past five years, now topping 18 million. With the right investments, the world can get on the fast-track to achieve our target of 30 million people on treatment by 2030.  Access to HIV medicines to prevent mother to child transmission is now available to more than 75 per cent of those in need.



RSS Email Subscription

Enter your email address: